Up To This Pointe

Up TUpToThisPointeo This Pointe

By Jennifer Longo

Random House Children’s Books

January 19, 2016

A refreshingly original contemporary YA, unlike anything readers have seen before. Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson, John Corey Whaley, and Libba Bray.
 
She had a plan. It went south.

Harper is a dancer. She and her best friend, Kate, have one goal: becoming professional ballerinas. And Harper won’t let anything—or anyone—get in the way of The Plan, not even the boy she and Kate are both drawn to.

Harper is a Scott. She’s related to Robert Falcon Scott, the explorer who died racing to the South Pole. So when Harper’s life takes an unexpected turn, she finagles (read: lies) her way to the icy dark of McMurdo Station . . . in Antarctica. Extreme, but somehow fitting—apparently she has always been in the dark, dancing on ice this whole time. And no one warned her. Not her family, not her best friend, not even the boy who has somehow found a way into her heart.

wheel Amazon.com Best Book of the Month

wheel “One of the most breathtaking explorations of navigating heartbreak that I’ve ever read. This is one for the ages.” —Martha Brockenbrough, author of The Game of Love and Death

wheel Winter 2015-2016 Kids’ Indie Next List — “Inspired Recommendations for Kids from Indie Booksellers”

wheel “Longo (Six Feet Over It) makes it easy to commiserate with Harper as she tries to move past disappointment and envision a new path forward.” —Publishers Weekly

wheel “Longo (Six Feet Over It) makes it easy to commiserate with Harper as she tries to move past disappointment and envision a new path forward.” —Kirkus

wheel “Harper is a well-developed, relatable character. Her inner monologue is witty and dominates most of the novel, giving a unique perspective on how her relationships with secondary characters, as well as apparitions of Antarctic explorers, influence her decision-making. Relationships with a possible love interest, Owen, and new and old friends are well crafted. VERDICT A recommended read for determined teens with an interest in following and exploring their dreams.”–School Library Journal

wheel “A stunning love letter to ballet and San Francisco, Jennifer Longo’s (Six Feet Over It) quirky sophomore novel, Up to This Pointe, is the perfect meld of adorable and heart-wrenching.”–Shelf Awareness, starred review