Ink and Ashes

By ValynnInk and Ashes covere E. Maetani

Tu Books

June 1, 2015

Claire Takata has never known much about her father, who passed away ten years ago. But on the anniversary of his death, she finds a letter from her deceased father to her stepfather. Before now, Claire never had a reason to believe they even knew each other. Struggling to understand why her parents kept this surprising history hidden, Claire combs through anything that might give her information about her father . . . until she discovers that he was a member of the yakuza, a Japanese organized crime syndicate. The discovery opens a door that should have been left closed. The race to outrun her father’s legacy reveals secrets of his past that cast ominous shadows, threatening Claire, her friends and family, her newfound love, and ultimately her life. Winner of Tu Books’ New Visions Award, Ink and Ashes is a fascinating debut novel packed with romance, intrigue, and heart-stopping action.

wheel “This fantastic debut packs a highly suspenseful blend of action, intrigue, and teen romance.” – Kirkus, starred review

wheel “This thoroughly engaging tale in the tradition of Nancy Drew or Veronica Mars ends on a satisfying note, but readers will hope for a sequel because it’s just that good.” – School Library Journal

wheel “Full of character, culture, and suspense, Ink and Ashes is a fascinating read with surprising new elements and a true heroine in Claire Takata.” – Ally Condie, author of the #1 New York Times bestselling MATCHED trilogy.

wheel “Maetani has created a thriller built out of secrets, loyalty, and revenge. Her main character, Claire Takata, is both an inspired creation and inspiring heroine!” – Sarwat Chadda, author of USBBY Outstanding International Book THE SAVAGE FOREST

wheel “Ink and Ashes is a Japanese-infused thrill ride that will keep the reader guessing until the very last page! From anime to yubitsume, author Valynne Maetani weaves her cultural roots into the life of Claire, a typical Utah high-schooler who stumbles upon dark secrets from her past. Believable and utterly unique!” – Edgar Award-winning author Alane Ferguson