But The51leWWbcHALn I Came Back

By Estelle Laure

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

April 4, 2017

From the author of This Raging Light comes the story of Eden Jones, a 17-year-old girl who feels lost after surviving a near fatal accident. Unable to connect with her family and friends, Eden forms an unlikely relationship with Joe, a boy who comes to the hospital to visit Jasmine, a friend who may soon be gone forever. Eden is the only person who can get through to Jasmine, but is she brave enough to face a world that’s bigger and more magical than she ever would have allowed? Lyrical, unexpected, and romantic, Estelle Laure’s new novel is about interwoven lives, long goodbyes, and the imperfect beauty of young love.

wheel “But Then I Came Back is magical and illuminating, lovely and lyrical. Laure’s examination of loss and longing, of saying goodbye to the past so you can say hello to the future, is a story you don’t want to miss.” –Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces 

wheel “But Then I Came Back is a hauntingly beautiful dreamscape of sense, memory, fate, magic, and love. If you love mystical stories with sumptuously lyrical writing and characters who take up residence in your heart, this book is for you. In prose that shimmers like sunlight on water and sings like a ballad, Estelle Laure weaves a devastatingly beautiful tale of memory, fate, friendship, and love. Fans of Jandy Nelson and A.S. King take note.” –Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King

wheel“Much like Laure’s writing, Eden’s story is haunting and raw. You will root for her as she struggles through her new reality and fall with her as she finds love.” –Goldy Moldavsky, author of Kill the Boy Band

 “Rendered with insight and compassion, Eden’s struggles to make peace with the human condition add up to a riveting coming-of-age story.” –Kirkus Reviews, starred review

 “…the appeal lies in Eden’s original, creative, and thought-provoking first-person (mostly) narrative. Fans of the first title will be happy to see Lucille through Eden’s eyes, but this companion novel stands solidly alone.” — Booklist

 “Laure creates an intriguing blend of realism and the unknowable in her sophomore novel . . . Eden is simultaneously tough and fragile, and her struggle to figure out what her life should look like is compelling.” –Publishers Weekly

 “Laure’s writing is thoughtful and lyrical. The disconnect between Eden’s plans for her future and her new reality will feel heartbreakingly familiar to anyone who has ever faced unexpected change. … Beautiful writing and an enchanting love story will appeal to romance fans.” –School Library Journal